top of page
Concert Band

Ryukuan Fantasy for Band

ItoMusic / Brain
Commissioned by Toshima-ku Wind Orchestra
Premiered on 29 April 1998

Based on the Okinawan Folksong Asadoya Yunta

Originally sung in a slow cantabile style, this exciting musical arrangement has an energetic rhythmic drive and momentum. The original version is for 2 pianos with 8 hands and was commissioned by the Yo-gen-kai association in March, 1997. It was premiered by the Okinawa Prefectural University of Arts professor Setsuko Iwasaki and her students.

Other arrangements include: 2 pianos for 4 hands, one piano for 4 hands, solo piano, violin and piano, soprano saxophone and piano, piano sextet, saxophone quartet, violin with saxophone quartet and piano, saxophone quintet and piano, saxophone quartet and piano, marimba sextet, and piano and wind orchestra.

The first band version was commissioned and premiered by Toshima-Ku Wind Orchestra conducted by Ito himself. It was featured composition in the January 1999 issue of Band Journal (the popular Japanese wind band monthly by ONGAKU NO TOMO SHA). Later, it was re-commissioned and re-orchestrated for the Hamamatsu Municipal High School Band conducted by Hideki Koshiba. Since the original version was composed for piano, its strongly percussive character must remain.


Flutes in C 1, 2
Oboe (div.)
Basson (div.)
Clarinet in Eb
Clarinet in Bb 1, 2, 3
Alto Clarinet
Bass Clarinet
Soprano Saxophone
Alto Saxophone 1, 2
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone


Trumpets in Bb 1, 2, 3
Horns in F 1, 2, 3, 4
Trombone 1, 2, 3
Euphonium 1, 2
Tuba (div.)
String Bass


Percussion 1 - Suspended Cymbal, Wind Chime, Bongos, Wood Block, Cabasa, Tambourine, Snare Drum, Tam-tam

Percussion 2 - Bass Drum, Congas, Guiro, Cymbals


Percussion 3 - Glockenspiel, Triangle, Vibra-slap, Triangle

Percussion 4 - Vibraphone, Snare Drum, Xylophone

bottom of page